Online: 72
13:11 GMT         Day 54 of 90, Season 46    

Augustin Leroy shows talent

  With lovely weather in Spain, all the riders were ready to do their best in Trofeo de San Fermín - and som certainly did. Koenraad Jonker from Borussia Milano went away from the peloton after only 18 km.
The peloton kept the tempo high, and Koenraad Jonker slowly lost his lead. When the peloton reached him, after 18 2 km, Augustin Leroy (Beardy Bikers) and Aleksander Hetland (Team WonderDee) launched a counter attack. Koenraad Jonker's first attempt didn't stop him from joining the break away, which afterwards slowly increased the lead.
When 10 km of the stage were left, the three riders in the break away were quite sure to go all the way to the finishing line alone. Their thoughts later became doubts, as the peloton got closer and closer. On the final kilometre, the 3 riders could see the peloton behind them, as they gave everything they could.
Aleksander Hetland launched an attack, which Koenraad Jonker easily countered despite his hard work on the stage. For Augustin Leroy it was a littler harder to follow, but later he simply proved to be faking. Aleksander Hetland couldn't follow the new tempo set by Augustin Leroy, and neither could Koenraad Jonker. Augustin Leroy safely sprinted to victory and raised his arms while crossing the finishing line. Behind him, about the length of two bikes away, Koenraad Jonker was slightly faster than Aleksander Hetland, who seemed to have no more power left after trying to attack earlier.
Beardy Bikers's Augustin Leroy was happy for the win. Today was me and my team's day. This win is not only important for me, but also for the team! said Augustin Leroy.
It's good to see Augustin Leroy fulfilling his ambitions winning this stage. He deserves the victory more than anyone else, said the proud manager of Beardy Bikers, Christophe Emslet, and continued: The team was a good support for him (Augustin Leroy) today, and he clearly proved his worth in the break away today.

Trofeo de San Fermín
Augustin Leroy
Koenraad Jonker
Aleksander Hetland